Friday, 20 March 2015

On sale this week!

In Bookreporter newsletter of week 17-24 March I found a few books that might be interesting. The only one I have heard about, and which have got very good reviews among my book blogging friends, is The Pocket Wife. Have any of you heard about the rest of them?

HAMMER HEAD: The Making of a Carpenter by Nina MacLaughlin (Memoir)
Nina MacLaughlin spent her 20s working at a Boston newspaper, sitting behind a desk and staring at a screen. Yearning for more tangible work, she applied for a job she saw on Craigslist --- Carpenter’s Assistant: Women strongly encouraged to apply --- despite being a Classics major who couldn't tell a Phillips from a flathead screwdriver. She got the job, and in HAMMER HEAD she tells the rich and entertaining story of becoming a carpenter.
W. W. Norton & Company * 9780393239133


THE BULLET by Mary Louise Kelly (Thriller)
In a split second, everything Caroline Cashion has known is proved to be a lie. A single bullet is found lodged at the base of her skull. Caroline is stunned. She has never been shot. Then, over the course of one awful evening, she learns the truth: that she was adopted when she was three years old after her real parents were murdered. She was wounded too, a gunshot to the neck. Surgeons had stitched up the traumatized little girl, with the bullet still there. Now, Caroline has to find the truth of her past.
Gallery Books * 9781476769813


MADEMOISELLE CHANEL by C. W. Gortner (Historical Fiction)
For readers of THE PARIS WIFE and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel --- the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the 20th century.
William Morrow * 9780062356406


THE POCKET WIFE by Susan Crawford (Psychological Thriller)
Dana Catrell is shocked when her neighbor, Celia, is brutally murdered. To Dana’s horror, she was the last person to see Celia alive. Suffering from mania, the result of her bipolar disorder, she has troubling holes in her memory, including what happened on the afternoon of Celia’s death. The closer she comes to piecing together the shards of her broken memory, the more she falls apart. Is there a murderer lurking inside of Dana...or is there one out there in the shadows of reality, waiting to strike again?
William Morrow * 9780062362858

INSPECTOR OF THE DEAD by David Morrell (Historical Thriller)
The year is 1855. The Crimean War is raging. The incompetence of British commanders causes the fall of the English government. The Empire teeters. Amid this crisis comes opium-eater Thomas De Quincey, one of the most notorious and brilliant personalities of Victorian England. Along with his irrepressible daughter, Emily, and their Scotland Yard companions, Ryan and Becker, De Quincey finds himself confronted by an adversary who threatens the heart of the nation.
Mulholland Books * 9780316323932

I suppose I just have to put them on my to read list since I am fully occupied with other books for the moment.

Please leave a comment if you have any views on any of them.

No comments:

Post a Comment